Login |  Register |  help

2008 Football Garnets Honored

Posted Friday, December 05, 2008 by JW

The annual Rye Football dinner was held last night at Apawamis Club.  This event is a tradition at Rye.  The dinner brings players, cheerleaders, parents, coaches and administration together to recognize the hard work and dedication that is demonstrated each year by the Garnet football squad.  This year as always the senior class members of the football team were honored. This group of 24 seniors compiled a 2 year record of 25-0 and helped establish the longest current winning streak in NY State.  They  have continued to extend the winning streak of "Hanging the Huskies" for 6 years in a row!! Senior  players receive "Rye Coaches Awards".  These awards are named after legendary Rye Football coaches of the past, Fran Walsh, Frank Robinson, Ben Bedini and  John Nugent. 

Coach Garr takes this opportunity to talk about his outstanding coaching staff and thanks them for all the efforts that make Rye Football second to none in New York State.  The undefeated J.V. team also was recognized as well.  Coach Garr talks of his "Garnet Family" and reminds all in attendence that the saying "Once a Garnet, Always a Garnet" really means something to be proud of.  The underclass members are reminded that the season starts today and each player is urged to focus and prepare for the 2009 season.
The importance of being a hard working student both off and on the field was stressed.

A special moment is when the Captains from 2008 announce the Captains for the 2009 Season.  The captains are voted on by the team. 

The following outstanding young men were voted as Captains for the 2009 Rye Garnet Defending NYS Class B  Football Champions:

Cole MacCormack
Brendan Nagle
Charles Rollins
Connor Eck

Many thanks go to the hard working folks at the Rye Football Association who put the dinner together and of course to all the Garnet athletes.  GO GARNETS!!

This page was created in 0.1719 seconds on server 132