Login |  Register |  help

Congratulations to Sam Fulmer on the Chris Meillo award: Poll Answer

Posted Saturday, September 29, 2007 by Dino Garr
Sam Fulmer and Derek Sable of the Huskies were presented with the Christoper Daniel Mello Award Memorial Award before The Game.

It is given in memory of Christoper Mello who died on September 11. Mello was co-captain of the 1993 Rye football team, which was runner-up in the Class C state championship that year in Syracuse, the first Rye team to make it to the states.

The award is presented to a player from each team based on character, citizenship and athletics. It to remind the teams of good sportsmanship epitomized by Chris Mello also of the the incomparable gift the longstanding rivalry is to both comunities.

Which tells you the answer to the poll:

  • the 1993 lost to Harrison (last years score was 19-8)
  • hence they were not undefeated (though they had been going into the Harrison game)
  • they were the first Rye team to go to the Dome, and
  • the did beat Pelham, the Garnets next opponent They met in a post season bowl game, but the score was 19-0.


This page was created in 0.1094 seconds on server 132